WHY STORM SURGE CAUGHT FILIPINOS BY SURPRISED?

10797234245_0b54569d3b

Photo credited to: Mans Unides Flicker (under creative common)

      I posted this content to Bubblews but I decided to share my point of view regarding the typhoon Haiyan (Yolanda) hit my country just recently to my friends and fellow bloggers here in WordPress.

It took me quite some time before I was able to type my first word for this content, it is not because I am losing words but I wanna make sure I can stress my point with regards to  this matter.

Few days ago, Typhoon Yolanda hit us, thousands of Filipinos died and injured. Many are now starving and stole foods from stores, supermarkets, and malls. Lots are asking for helps and most felt depression due to the death of their loved ones and loss of homes.

Before the typhoon, we heard all the local TV networks and radio announced and forecast all the possible places that the typhoon will land. We knew we have nothing to do about the calamities other than to be ready and prepared. I waited for the telecast of the different network to know about the updates because I can’t contact my mother due to communication down because of the bad weather.

While watching I heard one of the news anchor reporting about the latest updates in Tacloban and I can’t hold on my emotions when the video showed how the typhoon smashed the whole town. He told that as a reporter next time when this thing happened again the forecast should explained well to the public and it should be in Tagalog.

I agree on him about it to bring fully awareness and understanding to the public. When some of the victims interviewed by the network, they said, “They never knew that the storm surge will be like that”, in spite the announcement and forecast lots are not fully aware about the possible things would happen.

Philippines is one of the country that experiencing typhoons all throughout the year, in fact it happened almost every year, but what I observe why relief goods will be transported every after math.

Can’t it be our government gave it to the local government before on hand? Can’t it be included on the list and include it in preparation for every calamity?

 In times as this it is very touching that you will knew there are hands that will help you to stand. The support given by different countries in times that our country needed it most is truly heart touching. Every Filipinos hand in hand are helping each other to move on. I am just hoping all donations will be giving to all victims and not on the pockets of few people.

How do you feel about how the government handles the situation? 

 

Author: Will Of Heart

Hello everyone, thank you for dropping by. This is my personal compilation of wordings, it can be Poetry, Short Stories, Reviews, Personal point of View or simply experiences gain from everyday lives. Enjoy reading!

9 thoughts on “WHY STORM SURGE CAUGHT FILIPINOS BY SURPRISED?”

  1. I really appreciated this post – hearing it from you, grass roots.

    I’ve seen pictures and video, and it is hell on Earth. I don’t know how long it will take for people to pick up their lives, but I do deeply feel they would want to lay down and die as it is so enormous. Just horrific.

    I didn’t know news reports said where the typhoon might hit – I didn’t realise that.

  2. Our father who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name , thy kingdom come they will be done on earth as it is in heaven, given them our daily bread, and forgive any sins as we forgive those who sin against us , now and at the hour of their need Amen. I changed the Lords prayer slightly but I want to show you we are praying for them all. Also we have donated to help ( not much but what we can), hope it does help. I do not know why or how deeply governments and human error is involved I just want to help. God help them all. xxx

  3. Including our country, many will be sending all types of supplies and medicine Lane, and even medical support from our service, Navy, Army, Air Force and Marines, The United States has always cherished its relationship with our brothers and sisters in the Philippines.I know that help is on the way in several different forms. I pray for your mother and your family, and also you always. God bless my sister!

  4. I feel you, you cannot imagine the pain I feel for my Pinoy family. I am an American but also have Pinoy Pride. I am also a Tropical Weather Forecaster and honestly I wish it were an easier call. When I saw the storm’s features, my heart sank!!! Seeing it’s general expected path, I knew it’s sheer size and intensity was mind-boggling, and it’s path of destruction limited. I even went on facebook and gave PAGASAs warnings to Americans and Pinoy in Tagalog.

    My friend from Cebu and now Raleigh, NC called me tonight. I feel like her, I want to help and while I have donated 2,000 Php, I wish I could do more. Right now the whole place is all but impassable so even care baskets may only add to the confusion. As a man, I have shed tears over this past week for my Philippine friends.

    I urge everyone who can to donate 30-50 dollars or whatever you can, because as you look at that little girl in the picture, do you not want to cry or to break something? I know I do, and I have severe anxiety disorder. I am fortunate though, unlike many broken families and communities..

    Salamat my friends!!!!

Let's Talk:....

